How to fix “Unhandled Error Lockdown” in Ubuntu while attempting to mount an iOS5 device

I am having to try ubuntu now for at least 2 weeks. Since that day, Linux has been replace windows and mac for me. But, I can’t mount my iPhone 4 device on Ubuntu. I already try it for several times, but Ubuntu always show a dialog “Unhandled Error Lockdown” that frustrates me.

Recently, now I can mount iPhone 4 in my Ubuntu. This is what I did:

  1. Open terminal, write it: sudo add-apt-repository ppa:pmcenery/ppa
  2. And that, write it: sudo apt-get update
  3. After that, write it: sudo apt-get upgrade
  4. Now, you need to install ifuse. Write it:  sudo apt-get install ifuse
  5. First tool, write it: sudo apt-get install libimobiledevice2
  6. Second tool, write it: sudo apt-get install libimobiledevice-utils
  7. The final step, write it: idevicepair unpair && idevicepair pair
If nothing happens, just like me, replug your iDevice. Ubuntu will detect it. Here mine:
iPhone on Ubuntu

iPhone on Ubuntu

iPhone detected in gtkpod

iPhone detected in gtkpod

By the way, if you want to install gtkpod, although you are not necessarily to do that, you can write: sudo apt-get install gtkpod in your terminal.

I hope this help you to get your iPhone or iPod mounted in Ubuntu.

Enjoy!

Ubuntu version: 11.10 (Oneric Ocelot)

iOS version: 5.0

Device type: iPhone4 16GB Black

45 thoughts on “How to fix “Unhandled Error Lockdown” in Ubuntu while attempting to mount an iOS5 device

  1. When I try to update apt after adding pmcenery ppa, it fails to fetch the neccesery files.

    W: Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/pmcenery/ppa/ubuntu/dists/oneiric/main/source/Sources 404 Not Found

    W: Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/pmcenery/ppa/ubuntu/dists/oneiric/main/binary-amd64/Packages 404 Not Found

    W: Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/pmcenery/ppa/ubuntu/dists/oneiric/main/binary-i386/Packages 404 Not Found

    I have ubuntu 11.10 64b and I wonder what could the problem be… it doesnt seems though he has ppa for 11.10, viz his launchpad page

    https://launchpad.net/~pmcenery/+archive/ppa

    I’ll check back later

  2. OK, my dissapointment was premature 🙂 Turns out ifuse can be installed anyway and all the other steps works perfectly. I didnt even need to replug the device. Thanks a lot

  3. Thank you so much for the clues, I tried everywhere on the net but your solution worked. (sudo apt-get upgrade took lot of time). Thanks so much

  4. Hi, It worked. Ubuntu is recognizing my iPod, but I am not able to put music in my iPod (with iOS 5). Anybody having the same problem??? Any solutions???

  5. Hi. I tried to follow your steps, but fail at this step:

    $ sudo apt-get install libimobiledevice
    Reading package lists… Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information… Done
    E: Unable to locate package libimobiledevice

    I completed all of the other steps. When I connect the iPad (even after rebooting), I still get the unhandled lockdown error.

    Any suggestions?

  6. You are My hero for the day man, I was about to beat my brain out for a solution until you came up with this. Thanks a lot, apreciate it. 😀

  7. Very kind of you, but for me purely STEP 6 was sufficient!!! Why sweat so much then?
    {iPod Touch 4G with iOS 5.0.1 on Ubuntu 11.10}
    Cheers

      • You are right 😀 I forgot to mention that my iPod has been jailbroken. I have no idea whether that would be a sufficient condition to skip all the other steps except for STEP 6. (I don’t know whether running iFile could effect mounting properties at all.) Cheers, Adam!

  8. in the sudo apt-get install libimobiledevice2

    Got this error

    Reading package lists… Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information… Done
    E: Unable to locate package libimobiledevice2

  9. Tried your steps 1-7, all completed successfully, doesnt work, get the same error
    then tried delete the contents of ~/.config/libimobiledevice and then reconnect the device
    still get; Unable to mount stuart’s iPhone,
    Unhandled Lockdown error (-15)
    Ubuntu 11.10, Iphone 4 firmware 04.11.08, model MC603X, version 5.0.1 (9A405)

    • Fixed it;
      if however after following the unpair/pair instructions and unplugging/plugging your device you still get the error you may need to unlock your device (and, if needed, insert your PIN) and unpair/pair while the device is unlocked. While a device is locked it cannot be paired.

  10. Pingback: Bits By The Pound » Tethering iPhone 5.1 on Ubuntu 11.10

  11. Hey there! i’m trying to mount my iphone in my computer, but it not works for me… all seems like working well but in the final step (idevicepair unpair && idevicepair pair) the terminal sends me an error message (querytype failed error code -256). any ideas?? thanks so much

    I’ve jailbreacked iphone 3gs ios5 and ubuntu 10.10

  12. I cant… need help guys… Unhandled Lockdown error (-4), QueryType failed, error code -256…. Linux Mint 10 with all app needed and upgrades, iPhone 3gs “jailbreak” 5.1.1 (9b206) Thanks!

Leave a Reply

